NZIST congratulates Queen’s Birthday Honours recipients


NZIST congratulates Queen’s Birthday Honours recipients

June 2, 2020 | 3 min read

Warmest congratulations to Professor Sir Derek Arana Te Ahi Lardelli, ONZM of Gisborne who has been knighted for his services to Māori art in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Professor/Ahorangi Sir Derek is Pouwhirinaki/Principal Lecturer at Toihoukura at EIT Tairāwhiti.  He has been prominent in promoting Māori arts nationally and internationally.

Of Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Ngāti Konohi and Ngai Te Aweawe descent, Derek has earned an international reputation for his knowledge of tā moko and its spiritual significance, working to retain and develop the rituals, karakia and oral histories associated with tā moko. He is also a painter, carver, kapahaka performer, composer, graphic designer and researcher of whakapapa and oral histories and kaikōrero. He recently received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Waikato.

Sir Derek is also well-known for his role as cultural advisor to the All Blacks and the composer of their Haka, Kapa O Pango, which was performed at the Rugby World Cup in 2011. His artwork is found in national and international institutions, public buildings and private collections.

Congratulations also to the following people who have been, or are involved, in the vocational education sector and have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Officers of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM)

Dr Brian Thomas Pauling, of Wellington for services to broadcasting and education. Dr Pauling founded the NZ Broadcasting School, part of Ara.

Mr Thomas Richard Barton Rainey, of Christchurch for services to music and music education. Mr Rainey worked at Ara.

Mr James Ronald Tomlin, of Dunedin for services to art education. Mr Tomlin worked at Otago Poly.

Mr Derek Rex Crowther, of Auckland for services to the motor vehicle industry. Mr Crowther was on the MITO board.

Members of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM)

Mr John Clinton Baddeley, of Raglan for services to local government and the community. Mr Baddeley was on Wintec’s council and other ITP-related boards.

Mr Graham Peter Jackson, of Queenstown for services to the trades industry and business. Mr Jackson has been a board member of SIT and the Apprenticeship Training Trust.

Ms Lynette Harata Te Aika, of Christchurch for services to Māori language education. Ms Te Aika was on the CPIT Council.