NZIST Academic Board members announced


NZIST Academic Board members announced

May 6, 2020 | 1 min read

The New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Council has announced 12 appointments to its new Academic Board.

The new members come from a wide range of backgrounds from across our subsidiaries and ITOs. The members of the Board are:

  • Glynnis Brook (Ara)
  • Neil Carroll (Open Polytechnic)
  • Greg Durkin (BCITO)
  • Lorna Gillespie (Skills Active ITO)
  • Jeanette Grace (Whitireia New Zealand)
  • Kieran Hewitson (Toi Ohomai)
  • Nita Hutchinson (WITT)
  • Oongah McGirr (Otago Polytechnic)
  • Sue Smart (NMIT)
  • Luana Te Hira (MIT)
  • Natalie Waran (EIT)
  • Deborah Young (Ara)

The Academic Board, chaired by Interim Chief Executive Chris Collins, meets for the first time today (6 May).   

Council Chair Murray Strong said NZIST was delighted at the calibre of applicants for the 12 places on the Academic Board.

“This is an outstanding board with a great mix of knowledge and skills that will serve NZIST, its subsidiaries, the education sector and the country well.  We look forward to their contribution and to working with them,” Mr Strong said. 

The Board will provide strategic academic direction and leadership, and a national infrastructure to ensure quality, compliance and consistency of teaching and learning.  It will reflect the principles of Ōritetanga (tertiary success for everyone), innovation, harmonisation and collaboration across the NZIST academic network.